The Safe Kids Cascade County coalition works to prevent unintentional injury and death. Our main focus is on occupant protection, including the proper use of car seats and seat belts.
Coalition members include representatives from the school district, health care, law enforcement, businesses and other community agencies and members. The coalition meets quarterly. If you are interested in joining the coalition or learning more, please call Mary Kay at 406-454-5072.
Cascade County Statistics
Total number of motor vehicle crashes: 4604
Total number of motor vehicle crashes - serious injury: 34
Total number of motor vehicle crashes - fatalities: 12 - (8 not wearing seat belts)
Total number of motor vehicle crashes: 4598
Total number of motor vehicle crashes- serious injury: 29
Total number of motor vehicle crashes - fatalities: 9 - (6 not wearing seat belts)
Although observed safety belt use in Montana is just under 80%, if between 87% and 94% of Montanans used seat belts, it is estimated that an additional 20 to 30 lives would be saved each year. That number increases to 75 additional lives if seat belt use were 100%. It's simple: increased seat belt use results in fewer injuries and deaths.
Click here for more information on proper seat belt use.
Car Seat Safety
By law, in Montana all children up to 6 years old and up to 60 pounds have to use a car seat or booster seat. Larger children should also be in boosters until they are around 4 feet 9 inches tall. At times, there may be car seats and booster seats available for free or reduced cost.
Click here for more information on proper car seat and booster seat use!
A car can heat up 19 degrees in just 10 minutes. And cracking a window doesn’t help.
Click here for more information on heatstroke safety.
Become a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician today. Trainings are available, find out more at the National CPS Certification website or call 406-454-5072 for more information.